cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Automatic USPS cost adjustment steals money without proof

I am really upset with ebay giving the Post Office the ability to automatically steal money from us without any proof whatsoever that the "box size didn't match the service purchased".

In the USA, if someone has a claim against you, they take you to court and present evidence before being awarded damages. On ebay, the Post Office just steals your money, makes you call in demanding photos, then apologizes that a "system wide error" made a mistake and took money by accident. Then you have to wait for a refund.

I have been selling on ebay for 20 years and I know how to ship. I know my products and I know my weights. I also know when I ship in a SMALL flat rate box vs. a medium flat rate box.   I have NEVER had this problem until the last few months.  None of them were my fault and they have all been "decided in my favor" only AFTER I dispute them and wait for them to return my money.

This has happened 3 times to me now this year! Each time they have to refund me. Each time it's only for $5.10 or so. I think it's a fraudulent way to take from people who might not take the time to make a phone call.

Ebay, if you're listening, you need to make the post office submit a claim just like a buyer or any other "Plaintiff" would have to. They should have to provide their photographic evidence UP FRONT proving their claim. Then the seller has the opportunity to reply in defense. Giving anyone open ended access to our funds without proof is a scam and should be illegal.

Your current method makes us guilty until proven innocent; whereas we should be innocent until proven guilty.

Message 1 of 22
latest reply
21 REPLIES 21

I doubt that ebay has a say in the matter. I think that USPS does the same thing if you use other ways of printing your labels as well.

Message 2 of 22
latest reply