cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

scam?

It shows I am new to eBay, but I am not. Just a new name as I could not remember for the life of me my old info. What is new to me is the scam tactics similar to Craigslist. My buyer sent me a text to send them my PayPal request. I do not remember that ever occurring years ago when I sold, and if I am correct if I do that I am not seller protected? 

What gets me is they have positive feedback, the profile says Canada, they used a florida number with a Texas address.

I said to please pay through eBay and they said ok. Now nothing. I opened  an unpaid item dispute. Does eBay still charge fees if I repost?  (Yes expensive electronic item I look like a new fish ready to be scammed) 

Something in me just wants to be done with this transaction because of the fishyness. 

Message 1 of 10
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

scam?

Ah.

Something you need to understand here.

If you list a valuable cell phone as a zero, you will attract scammers the world around.

There is almost no way you can get this phone sold without using IPR.

View Best Answer in original post

Message 3 of 10
latest reply
9 REPLIES 9

scam?

I said to please pay through eBay and they said ok. Now nothing. I opened  an unpaid item dispute. Does eBay still charge fees if I repost?  (Yes expensive electronic item I look like a new fish ready to be scammed) 

It does sound like you dodged a common scam.  "buy", then work on a naive seller to ship the stuff before being paid.

Consider using BIN/IPR.  Immediate Payment Required.  That filters out anyone not willing to pay first.

Message 2 of 10
latest reply

scam?

Ah.

Something you need to understand here.

If you list a valuable cell phone as a zero, you will attract scammers the world around.

There is almost no way you can get this phone sold without using IPR.

Message 3 of 10
latest reply

scam?