cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

eBay International and shipping Lithium ion Battery

I just sold a iPad to a buyer in Tanzania Africa and this is my first time shipping anything with batteries overseas.

Now I know that the iPad has a lithium battery in it, will that be a problem  (Customs) ?

I'm shipping with eBay Global Shipping program, Any help would be appreciated. 

Message 1 of 9
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

Re: eBay International and shipping Lithium ion Battery

Since you are utilizing the GSP, they should have also been the one that sent the invoice to the buyer, simply let them know the item will be getting shipped through the eBay Global Shipping Program and once payment has been received the shipping process will be initiated and the tracking information will be available to them through the eBay order. 

Sounds like the buyer may be fairly new to eBay and is not very familiar with the process. 

View Best Answer in original post

Message 5 of 9
latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

Lithium batteries can only be shipped internationally if they are installed in the equipment they operate. Shipping carriers are not allowed to ship packages containing only lithium batteries or cells to international locations – they must be included inside a product, so you should be safe to ship. Below is the link to the USPS website for more info.

https://pe.usps.com/text/pub52/pub52c6_004.htm#ep254913

Message 2 of 9
latest reply

Ok Thanks for your help

Message 3 of 9
latest reply

Ok the Buyer is now asking me for proof that I am going to ship, is this normal or are they trying to scam me?Capture.PNG

Message 4 of 9
latest reply