cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

beginner

im a beginner trying to start a ebay business, what are some tips for pricing, shipping? should I add tax to my items? 

Is "tax write off" a thing? do i need to take certain step to do so, keep certain particular records? 

Any tips would be greatly appreciated

Thank you in advance

Message 1 of 16
latest reply
15 REPLIES 15

beginner

Sales tax is charged and collected by eBay and remitted to the buyers state. Do like every other seller does do your research. This link has a lot of info > Start selling on eBay 

A to Z policy index 

Message 2 of 16
latest reply

beginner

@dabo6871 wrote:

im a beginner trying to start a ebay business, what are some tips for pricing, shipping? should I add tax to my items? 

Is "tax write off" a thing? do i need to take certain step to do so, keep certain particular records? 

Thank you in advance

1. what are some tips for pricing, shipping? 

Search other current, completed and sold listings and sites to see what the same or similar items sold for. For shipping, calculate the weight, package size and various shipping services to various zip codes to see what it'll cost to ship.

2. should I add tax to my items?

You don't need to add sales tax. Ebay will do that automatically based on the location to which the item is shipped. 

3.  do i need to take certain step to do so, keep certain particular records

You should keep records of your expenses - travel, shipping costs, fees, COG, etc. so when you get your 1099K, you'll be able to accurate offset your payments with your expenses.

albertabrightalberta
Volunteer Community Mentor

Message 3 of 16
latest reply

beginner

@dabo6871 wrote:

Thank you in advance

Pricing / Shipping

• USPS is more forgiving about shipping mistakes than FedEx or UPS.   If you should use either of FedEx or UPS, make sure you learn the shipping rules.