cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What has happened to eBay???? Is eBay shuting down ????

I have been selling on eBay for over 13 years, I've seen prices go down, now it looks like Ebay is shutting down. Sales have gone to Hell ???? What has happened to eBay???? Is eBay shutting down ????

Message 1 of 123
latest reply
122 REPLIES 122

@crappielures2222 wrote:

I have been selling on eBay for over 13 years, I've seen prices go down, now it looks like Ebay is shutting down. Sales have gone to Hell ???? What has happened to eBay???? Is eBay shutting down ????

They may be... but it may not be on purpose!

Message 2 of 123
latest reply

No, they are being shut sown by outside forces.

Message 3 of 123
latest reply

I think they are just phasing out.  Ebay has become a dinosaur compared to the other choices out there.

Message 4 of 123
latest reply

@crappielures2222 wrote:

What has happened is that Ebay has cut down considerably or almost completely their marketing for the company, instead deciding to focus on getting more money from their existing Sellers even though sales are dropping.  After they announced their 1st quarter numbers the CEO stated that they expected the lower numbers due to the cut in marketing (advertising) expenses.  He also stated that Ebay is looking to additional revenues from existing Sellers through the use of Promoted Listings and also their Managed Payment platform.  In other words they are counting on more and more Sellers joining the Promoted Listings program as they get frustrated with not getting any sales without it.  The trending additional FVF that sellers in the program are paying appear to range from 4.65% 11.0% depending on what category you are in.  This is in addition to the 10% FVF that Ebay already charges.  In other words if you do not pay additional money for your items to be seen, your sales will probably to drop like a rock. 

Message 5 of 123
latest reply

@twnpopcards wrote: