cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The new buyer scam and eBay’s ignoring Policy.

I am a 23 year veteran top rated seller. 15k plus Positive feedbacks no negatives There is a new scam and buyers are signing up, using fictitious names and stealing merchandise and eBay is helping them do it. I warned eBay and I have that S.R. Number to prove it. 

I sold a $200 plus item and it was to a 0 feedback buyer who registered that morning. I have customers world wide and sell lots of combined shipping items so I can not use immediate payments It does not work for my business model and I don’t block newbies as many have become wonderful repeat buyers and blocking them would be a mistake. 
I grew suspicious when the “not as described case” was started exactly one minute after the USPS time stamped scan showed up on my package being delivered. The immediate “not as described” used one of my 10 pictures which actually supported my description. It was strange no messaging just a well planned out immediate claim. I contacted eBay as first I live in a non-smoking household and I use brand new packing materials. I sell mostly brand new or like new items and have sold 50,000 items with no complaints like this one. The buyer stated I packed with grease dirt and hair and the items were sticky and reeked. Interestingly We have no smoke nothing here reeks and there is no grease nor hair anywhere around my shipping station and 15,000 postive feedbacks with no one ever making a complaint like this is certainly alerting. I reported the buyer. Then I looked at the name on the shipping label, which I found out was a name stolen from a fictional character not one that was living at the address I shipped to. I knew this was going to be trouble so I asked eBay what to do . They said pay for a return label and then appeal once the item is returned. 

‘’the scam “