cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sketchy buyer. Am I protected?

I'm not a professional ebayer.  I had an unused and unopened (plastic still on it) brand new video game that I wanted to sell rather than have it collect dust.  I never expected such a headache from it.

My listing said no returns. 

Buyer asked if I could ship the day he purchased.  I offered free shipping, and in order to ship that day I had to use UPS which cost me a little more than intended.  Not a huge deal.  But from the word go I'm down $6.  Had it gone well after that, it never would have bothered me.

He commented later that he was going to ask if I'd take less money for the game but bought it at my asking price, which was less than or equal to retail depending on the store.  A few hours later he asked to cancel stating it was for a friend and his friend had a different system.  I told him I'd accept the UNOPENED item back for a refund minus my shipping cost that I paid extra for.

He then asked if he could keep it but also receive a $15 refund since he can't use the game.  He backed off and asked for $5 refund and he'd keep the game.  At this point I'm pretty sure he's just trying to con me out of money based on his previous comment about wanting to pay less and the ridiculous request that I refund half the money and let him keep the game.

I repeated my offer to accept his return of the unopened item and refund all but my shipping cost.

He decided to keep the game.  Three days later I get a message that he opened the game and the disk doesn't read and could he return it.