cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New seller needs advice

I am new to selling on eBay. I have been trying to de-clutter in preparation for the new school year. I have sold a number of items in the past month, including a bunch of makeup that I had on hand and didn't plan to use. I carefully inspected everything to make sure I l listed the condition appropriately. All of the makeup was deeply discounted. Two individuals have contacted me to indicate that I sold them defective or used makeup, which was not the case at all. I had just purchased three of the eye shadows in June. Another buyer indicated that I did not ship all of the items. One threatened me with an implied negative review. Of course I apologized and refunded all of them because I felt obligated to do so (and they kept the product), but how do I keep this from happening again and again? It seems like it would be very easy to make these kinds of allegations. Selling on eBay isn't inexpensive. Thanks for your advice!

Message 1 of 26
latest reply
25 REPLIES 25

Re: New seller needs advice

Thanks so very much! I am very careful to ship nicely. This was very high-end makeup purchased by the buyers at very deep discounts, so I made sure it was treated with care. 

Great advice! Thanks again! 

Message 16 of 26
latest reply

Blocked Buyer List.  Changing your settings to block anyone with strikes/unpaid items/etc.  Shocking how well it can work, when it works.  Once in a while I go into my settings to check it out, and there you go, the evidence is right there.  I.D.'s and how many times they've tried to get through.  Kind of like anti-virus protection for your computer.

Message 17 of 26
latest reply

So very true! I am going to request a return if this happens again. Appreciate the words of wisdom!

Message 18 of 26
latest reply

Thanks so very much! Great advice!

Message 19 of 26
latest reply