cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Increase in Minimum Promotion "Bribe" to 2% Hurts Sellers Already In Pain

I found the eBay "promotion fee" shady to begin with. Essentially having to "bribe" eBay to show my listings feels like I am giving protection money to the local mob boss, so that I can stay in business.

Now, I see that eBay will essentially hide my listings way down on some page the user will never find, unless I not only continue to pay my protection money, but pay even more than I had to in the past. eBay has increased the minimum bribe from 1% to 2%. Doubling this fee at a time when sellers are suffering tremendously due to a dramatic slowdown in retail buying activity, REALLY hurts.

I believe, in these times, eBay should be REDUCING fees - sharing the pain with its loyal community of sellers. I've been selling on eBay for almost 25 years. And I feel like I am bearing all of the burden of both declining sales and increasing fees.

Message 1 of 31
latest reply
30 REPLIES 30

@vssoutlet 

Can you not increase your item listing cost to absorb from 1% to 2%?

1% for a item that sells for $25.00 + $10.00 shipping + 7% sales tax (total sale) $35.00 + $2.45 tax = $37.45 @ 1% = .38 cents

1% before the recent change would have been 1% on only $25.00 or .25 cents  (13 cents delta)

2% of $37.45 = .75 cents  - increase your handling fee .40 cents to cover the .37 cent delta.  

Realize that with the USPS shipping increases about to hit here shortly, it might seem like a lot and on a low-dollar item, it could be.  We raised our handling fee(s) slightly to work to offset.  

Good luck.  You are correct - it is ALL starting to ADD UP!

....... "The Ranger isn't gonna like it Yogi"......... Boo-Boo knew what he was talking about!

Posting ID Only.......
Yes, I have no Bananas, only Flamethrowers.......
Message 2 of 31
latest reply

Shipping rates are killing sales

Message 3 of 31
latest reply

@solidguitar1961 wrote: