cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I thought the shipping price stays the same when someone makes an offer?

So I was selling an item for around 51.99 and it costs about 30$ to ship. I got an offer come in for 50$ so I accepted, only to realize after the fact that he had totally took away all shipping costs! It said "free shipping". So I panicked and felt taken advantage of and just canceled the order. I know Ebay frowns down upon doing this, but when I had the offer sent to me, it said nothing at all about free shipping.

I'm rather new to Ebay but in all my prior research, I was under the impression that when you send an offer, the shipping price stays fixed.

Message 1 of 41
latest reply
40 REPLIES 40

Buyers have no ability to remove the ship cost on an offer. You must have been mistaken and had free shipping. 

Message 2 of 41
latest reply

Are you sure you had the correct shipping to start with?  With a Offer the buyer can not change the shipping.  They can add a message that states that their offer is total to include shipping.  I looked at you Elvis Cassette, there is no option to change the shipping and the shipping is clearly posted.

stephenmorgan_0-1668566085162.png

stephenmorgan_1-1668566133843.png

Message 3 of 41
latest reply

That's what I thought too, but here's the listing, you can see the shipping clearly specified, but if you go and look at winning bid, it shows as free shipping.🤔😮

https://www.ebay.com/itm/403996115732

Message 4 of 41
latest reply

That listings shows shows $29.99 shipping to the US.   I would call eBay and find out what happened.

stephenmorgan_0-1668568319022.png

Message 5 of 41
latest reply

I see the same shipping on the  listing and the winning bid.  $28.99 to Canada

jacket1.JPG

jacket2.JPG

Message 6 of 41
latest reply

Yes, that's the strange thing, but then when I go in the order details it showed like this!ebay.jpg

Message 7 of 41
latest reply

That's bizarre