cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First transaction under new format

I know I'm just venting but here I go. After a bit of time away, I just sold a $10.00 item, and after ebay charged me fees on the item and shipping ($18.60 shipping), and an "international fee" (even though buyer was in Utah), I netted just over half the selling price. I feel like I'm a victim of larceny. AND I'm old and tired of having to figure things out every time they change the system of payment, shipping, listing and whatever else they can think of. I know, I know I can always leave but I have been selling for many years and it has never been this complicated and expensive to sell a few odds and ends.

Message 1 of 13
latest reply
12 REPLIES 12

Re: First transaction under new format

@740miket wrote:

I know I'm just venting but here I go. After a bit of time away, I just sold a $10.00 item, and after ebay charged me fees on the item and shipping ($18.60 shipping), and an "international fee" (even though buyer was in Utah), I netted just over half the selling price. I feel like I'm a victim of larceny. AND I'm old and tired of having to figure things out every time they change the system of payment, shipping, listing and whatever else they can think of. I know, I know I can always leave but I have been selling for many years and it has never been this complicated and expensive to sell a few odds and ends.

The international fee is frustrating when the destination is domestic (but the buyer pays in an international currency), but the rest isn't too different.  Selling inexpensive yet heavy items is a one-way ticket to going broke - that hasn't changed in years.

“The most common way people give up their power is by thinking they don’t have any.”
— Alice Walker

#freedomtoread
#readbannedbooks
Message 2 of 13
latest reply

New format? do you mean "managed payments"?

I find very little difference in eBay/MP  vs eBay/PP fees.

Message 3 of 13