cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First time seller: I accepted a scam offer.

A buyer made an offer on a laptop I'm selling. The shipping address said Chicago, IL, and I am new to selling, so I accepted.

They then messaged asking for my pay pal email address + full name, and told me to contact them at their cell phone number.

This immediately made it obvious that I was being scammed. Checking their profile revealed they are based in Singapore, not Chicago. I ceased communication and forwarded all the suspect emails to spoof@ebay.com

I've seen advice to wait 2 days and file a UPI (Unpaid Item Request), and this does seem safe, insofar as the scammer doesn't pay. I'm concerned that they still might pay and file for no receipt and cause me more problems.

Since this is clearly a scam, I would rather just cancel the transaction. But I obviously do not want any defects and want the final value fee returned to me. Will I incur these penalties if I cancel? I would choose 'problem with buyer's shipping address' if so, but I'm not sure if that will pass scrutiny.

Message 1 of 17
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

They will NOT pay.  In this case, filing a UID will do no good, since the account is disposable. They'll just continue their scamming with a new account if needed. Cancel using the buyer address problem option, and then block.  Your fees will be refunded and you can relist if desired.

This isn't going to be necessary for you, but I'm posting in case there are those reading who are still unfamiliar with this very, very common scam. Read the entire thing:

Anytime a buyer wants you to text or email them, it is a SCAM.
Do not engage with them at all. Give them no information.

Report the "buyer"

Block https://offer.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?bidderblocklogin

Ignore