cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ebayers ------ Scam Alert!!!!!

Hello. I am just new to Ebay Selling but been a member since 2015.  I thought some Ebay sellers are the only ones who can scam people by listing authentic ones then sending the fake ones, selling things not as described etcs.   I dealt with them numerous times, regardless of how many feedbacks they have.

I started selling and recently,  somebody offered a good price for one of my listings and messaged me to help him pay since he is new ( he has 1 feedback ) he said it was a  valentine gift for his girlfriend and asked me a favour if I can also include a $300 steam card or amazon gift card he will pay me extra for the trouble too.  So I sent him a revised paypal receipt after talking to Ebay CS to make sure I am not violating any. His alibi was he could not send money with the link I sent thru txt and asked me my  email so he can just send it directly to my paypal acct.

After 2 - 3 minutes, received an email saying that there is " MONEY RECEIVED  complete with transaction ID, Paypal logo, Paypal platform etc.  It really seems like a legit email from Paypal that the buyer paid me.  

Good thing I checked my actual Paypal and there is no transaction at that day, I even called Paypal ( long wait) to inquire about the Transaction ID because the buyer is kinda rushing. But there is none.....

So I told the guy that it hasn't appeared yet and as soon as it appeared regardless if the funds are being held, I will send it right away.....

It was a 3 day pressure on me and threatening a negative feedback and all that.

Funds never appear...........

I am so thankful Ebay and Paypal are on my side on this one, helped go thru reporting process and everything.

I hope this helps both sellers and buyers.....

Message 1 of 14
latest reply
13 REPLIES 13