cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Camera Buying scam whereby buyer claims damage, asks for return and gets refund, no return

Hi, 

I've been selling on ebay for a while (15 years), and never had  a problem with any item I've sold, and never had anyone ask for a return - until a few weeks ago.  I put a beautiful Nikon F3HP with a lens up for auction, and the auction winner ended up being a camera shop in brooklyn NY.  I sent it up, got my money, assumed all was good.  After a day or so, I get a request for a return, with a picture and a comment saying their "expert" noticed a broken part - even though it had been fine when shipped, and it was very well packaged.  Even though the item was listed as seller doesn't accept returns, I decided (foolishly) to accept.  As it was the first time doing this, the prompting for printing the labels and issuing the returns for the first time was a bit confusing, I again foolishly issued full return without receiving the item back yet.  

So what happens, nothing of course, the buyer returned no ebay messages, ebay issues a 2nd return label, and what happens - why no return.  I start reading the feedback on the buyer, all positive, how...?   Then I notice a Postitive feedback in all caps from @masowilliam_69 which jumped out, all caps, don't buy, scam, ... almost identical situation as mine.  I unfortunately after payment was prompted for feedback, gave it, fast payment, or something of the sort.  Did you know you don't seem to be able to change your feedback after.... and this no negative feedback if very very bad.

So then I look on the google reviews of the business, and the yelp, and their facebook page, I see many more 1 star reviews with the same story.