cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buyer with 0 feedback, joined today, offered above asking price

I'm really new to this game. I have an item I listed as Buy It Now for $299.99. Someone made me an offer for $300. They have zero feedback and they joined today. I'm assuming it's a scammer but I'm not sure. I'm a new seller also with zero feedback and I think the buyer may be trying to take advantage of my inexperience. What should I do?

Message 1 of 30
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

Re: Buyer with 0 feedback, joined today, offered above asking price

@snowclonestudios wrote:

I'm really new to this game. I have an item I listed as Buy It Now for $299.99. Someone made me an offer for $300. They have zero feedback and they joined today. I'm assuming it's a scammer but I'm not sure. I'm a new seller also with zero feedback and I think the buyer may be trying to take advantage of my inexperience. What should I do?

If you do not have it already set as a requirement, setup immediate payment required on your buy-it-now. This will not apply if you accept a best offer, but it will apply if someone buys the item outright.

In this event, the scammer is trying to get you to accept the offer so they can circumvent immediate payment required, then contact you insisting they need your Paypal email address provided to them (which by the way is against ebay policy), at which time they would then send you a fake payment notification email trying to trick you into sending the item out without actually being paid.

Do not reply, block this person, decline the offer and move on.

View Best Answer in original post

Message 4 of 30
latest reply
29 REPLIES 29

It's a scam. Do not reply at all.

Message 2 of 30
latest reply

Run, Forrest, Run...
Message 3 of 30
latest reply

@snowclonestudios wrote: