cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Blocking a potential buyer before they ever buy anything

I've been selling on here for over 20 years, and I've developed a 6th sense for being able to detect a trouble buyer just based on messages they send to me asking questions about what I'm selling.  I won't point to anything specific, but often I just know.   You can just tell buy what they're asking and how they're asking it that they're going to be trouble.  And more often than not, I end up being right.

I've gotten to the point of being tempted to just plain block these people before they ever make a purchase.  Is this an appropriate action, or does it have any potential downfalls (other than possibly losing a legitimate sale) ?

Message 1 of 19
latest reply
18 REPLIES 18

Re: Blocking a potential buyer before they ever buy anything

The worst that can happen is that you don't make a sale.

And asking "too many" questions isn't a gut feeling, it's a clue based on long experience.

One of the few that most experienced sellers will agree with.

I also Block members whose ID is vulgar in any of the languages I know.

Oh-- when you Block also block communication.

Message 16 of 19
latest reply

@bgt_masters_of_tiki_d wrote:

I do this as well. However it doesn't always work. I've blocked a troublesome buyer on two occasions and they just keep purchasing on other ids. The buyer abused returns 2-3 times to earn the block in the first place, one of those times sending back something altogether if I recall correctly.  

You should have reported them! That's a violation of policy and enough of those violations on their account(s) and they get suspended. 

https://www.ebay.com/help/policies/rules-policies-buyers/buying-practices-policy?id=4374

Pertinent part: 

Acceptable buying practices include adherence to the following policies.