cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Accidentally accepted a scam offer!

Hi! I'm new to using ebay and this was my first time trying to sell something-- I listed a pair of boots for $49 and an offer was made for $100. I accepted it right away, without realizing that it was a little suspicious. After viewing threads of similar situations, I determined that it was likely a scam. So I sent a cancellation request to the buyer, but I did not realize that even if the order is cancelled, I'll still be charged $10 from ebay.

Any suggestions for what to do at this point?

Message 1 of 45
latest reply
44 REPLIES 44

Re: Accidentally accepted a scam offer!

@siayan 

1.  Seems  like post # 22  is a story that mkeve96-3 provided.    I was  inquiring about the details of your story(ies) & asking you to share them for the  benefit of  others in  Community.  Of course, you may be posting under two diff. eBay IDs - no way to tell from here.

2.  No  need to memorize your sales totals from day one.  Just  click on the link of your Seller  Dash Board scroll down to the  bottom of the page and voila your eBay  total $ amt. & qty. are shown.  Been that way since at least Jan. 10 2010 and strongly suspect prior to then.

"I have the right to remain silent but I didn't have the ability." Ron White, Fritch, Texas
"Stay away from negative people, they have a problem for every solution." A. Einstein
The Devil made me do it! - Flip Wilson
If the band can only play loud - they ain't no good - peps too J.R. Johnson
Message 31 of 45
latest reply

@ste-9405 wrote:

@southern*sweet*tea wrote:

@trustedbasset wrote:

I had a bowl listed as an auction with the offer option. I received about 5 offers and one was for $25 over the listing price. 

In some cases it’s cool to take a higher offer but if it’s an item that isn’t that rare  and you get a really high offer then it’s a scammer.