cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

shipping postcards for free or cheap vs. tracking

I've been selling online (mostly eBay) for almost 20 yrs now... but haven't sold postcards for close to 10. 

I'm seeing other sellers selling postcards (sportscards, too) for dirt cheap (maybe $1. or less) *with free or next to nothing shipping*. 

My average sale for other items is around $15. so I ALWAYS have had tracking (I print labels through eBay/paypal, etc).

Question: do these other sellers not provide tracking at all? Its either that or they're losing their shirts(!)... at least through eBay/PP labels, since the lightest items are still over $2. shipping with tracking. 

Without tracking, I'm curious what others' experience is. The only thing I can figure out is they "play the odds"... hoping that no one will scam them for non-delivery... and then (even worse) leave neg FB.

Any input would be appreciated. I've got hundreds, probably thousands of cards laying around here I'd like to get back into selling... thx! 

Message 1 of 9
latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

I'm one of those sellers who offers free shipping. I ship out all postcard orders under ~20 dollars with a 49 cent stamp in an envelope.

Contrary to popular belief on the ebay forums, most buyers, especially postcard buyers, are not scammers and won't open up frivolus cases and complaints. They just want their postcards in a short amount of time in the condition described. I get about 1 question or Item Not Received case for about every 200-300 postcards I ship out without tracking. I then apologize and then refund without question, knowing with that small loss I've saved a lot more money on shipping charges.