cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Storing Postcards

Hi:

I've been buying postcards on Ebay for a few years now and am now facing the issue of storing them. What is your preference? Albums? Storage boxes? I'd appreciate any advice or ideas.  

Thanks!

Message 1 of 8
latest reply
7 REPLIES 7

Re: Storing Postcards

I'm a seller who also collects.

My cards for sale are stored in boxes with each card in a acid free polyprotec sleeve (there are orher brands).

For my private collection I use both boxes and albums. The cards in the boxes are a 'work in progress', those in the albums are completed sets or groups. I collect Raphael Kirchner, Art Nouveau, and Art Deco Postcards.

Albums are best once you have a group of related items, a set of cards, a theme, etc. Think in terms of a set of six related cards, they will always look better and be easier to enjoy or display when gathered together in a single album page. Once in the album the cards are unlikely to be moved. The albums I use have six acid free poly slots per page and additional pages can be added to the album as necessary. The album itself fits into an outer sleeve that prevents any dust and so on.

Boxes are great for interim storage; for the set that's missing just one card; for the cards were where you hope to find a better condition example or where you've just not decided where it belongs in the collction.

Whatever storage medium you use it's important to ensure that you use materials that are designed to preserve the card. If you have a local postcard collectors society in your area they will be able to advise on suppliers.  Failing that a stamp collectors supplier can often help.

Hope this helps

Linda

About Postcards

Message 2 of 8
latest reply

Thanks Linda - that is exactly the type of advice I was looking for!  I will bookmark your site as well in case I have other questions. 

Message 3 of 8
latest reply