cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Track compatibility

I am new to model railroading. As a Coca Cola Collector, I decided to build a Coca Cola set for under my Christmas tree. So far I have purchased only Athearn equipment. I bought a locomotive/caboose set first that came with an oval track. This track is mounted to a gray plastic roadbed. I want to add a couple of straight pieces to each side, but when I do a search for "Athearn track" I don't come up with much. How compatible are the tracks manufacturer to manufacturer?

Message 1 of 9
latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

Re: Track compatibility

Aawiah,

What scale are you working in?

All the best,

Charles Sloane

Message 2 of 9
latest reply

Working in HO. Can't believe I didn't include that. Thanks for replying.

Message 3 of 9
latest reply

Aawiah,

Can you take a couple photos of a piece of the track, the top and particularly the under side if there are any markings, and post them here?  Are there any markings on the underside of the track?  Looking at Athearn's web site, they don't seem to make their own track (at lease at the moment).  Some photos may help a lot.  If you have a local hobby store they can see if anything they have in stock works with your track, if you take a piece with you.  They may recognize the track right away too.

All the best,

Charles Sloane

PS, I work in mostly N Scale and G Gauge 1:29 Scale.

Message 4 of 9
latest reply

Sat 12-8-18 9:05 p.m.

There are basically four kinds of HO track: 1) brass Atlas sectional track (available at hobby stores), 2) sectional track which comes with train sets (for example, AHM, Bachmann, Life-Like, Tyco), 3) track with a solid plastic roadbed, and 4) various types of 3 ft long flex track.