cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to tell when it's aventurine or gold foil inside sommerso glass beads?

I have several sommerso necklaces with 'gold' inside, some look spun, some are swirls, and some is like confetti. I don't know if it is aventurine or gold foil or gold leaf. I watched a video of Murano artisans making these and they picked up gold foil on the mandrils, and said most people refer to it incorrectly, as aventurine. I'm new to this and trying to get it right! So confused at this point because it seems everyone does refer to what's inside the sommerso that is 'gold' as aventurine. 

Here  are a couple. One clear and one opaque. I appreciate greatly any light you can shed on this. Also, is the opaque orange bead technically sommerso, as it is opaque?

Message 1 of 6
latest reply
5 REPLIES 5

Uhmmm - maybe you forgot a picture? At least what I'm seeing looks like two parts of the same necklace. (and no, I don't know the difference between aventurine and foil flecks for sure, but my general sense is that the aventurine is smaller particles, generally showing as a swirl of the tiny flecks, more like sand particles than pieces of foil)

Message 2 of 6
latest reply

Oops, here is the other photo. And, thanks for the reply. Since I asked it I ran across a bead with both aventurine AND gold foil flecks. To me the difference is also in the color, the aventurine looked more dark and coppery, and the gold foil was VERY glittery, and as you pointed out, more like tiny flecks. 

Anyway, here is the other bead that is orange. Also, since I asked I ran across one like this but it was white, and referred to as goldstone aventurina in (insert color here). 

Thanks for the reply! 

Message 3 of 6
latest reply