cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HUGE INVENTORIES OF VINTAGE

hi all,

i am new to this group...i am a buyer, not a seller...i've been buying from ebay since the mid 1990s...recently, i have been buying some vintage costume jewelry, which i have always liked...i have noticed one peculiar thing...some sellers have huge inventories of vintage...i don't mean the newer costume that can be purchased in a retail store in a mall...i'm talking about the real expensive vintage pieces...and when i say huge...that's exactly what i mean...a never-ending supply of famous designers of the retro period...as a fairly new buyer of jewelry, i pose the question to experienced sellers...could this be a "red flag" of some sort?  thanks in advance for your thoughts on this subject...

Message 1 of 9
latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

Re: HUGE INVENTORIES OF VINTAGE

I have a lot of inventory, but I'm willing to hold out for the right price. 

I can see where too many listings of D & E would concern a person and I've checked and wondered myself.  I'll be anxious to hear what the others say.

Message 2 of 9
latest reply

One does have to watch out for fake/reproduction of some high end designer pieces.

Yes, there is a LOT of fabulous vintage jewelry in the marketplace, not just on eBay.  The generation of "Ladies who Lunch" and the 5 o'clock cocktail hour followed by the dinner party are the generation that is dying now so the jewels are for sale by family members or thru estate sales.