cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fake Cotton Linen

This is my first time posting in a discussion, so I'm still figuring our how the board works. Apologies if this has been addressed before, but I searched online to see if htis was a common problem and found nothing.

I have noticed a very common practice of sellers listing clothing (bulk quantities, and ususally in China) as "cotton linen" or sometimes just "cotton" as a catch-all phrase for moslty synthetic clothing. It is not limited to ebay, other sellers do this, but here of course i am just tlaking about the issue as it exists on ebay.

For a couple items I was looking for I was surprised at how cheap these brand new  "100% cotton" clothes were and inquired with the sellers who gave me all sorts of shady responses. Often I see the same item, same brand listed by another seller in the related items bar as "100% polyester".

If I am looking at a cotton or linen item have started asking the sellers for a photo of the tag to verify that the item is what they claim it is. The other day a seller sent me a tag which does indeed say linen and cotton, but belongs to what seems to be a completely different item. It is a different colour (which they told me as the monitor) and has a pattern while the listing shows plain fabric.

I have mistakenly ordered a few things in the past only to find they were definitely polyester, for example one had a tag on it. The sellers give me a huge amount of grief of the matter of returns, they offer to refund $1 or a percentage but claim they cannot afford to pay for return shipping. This even happened with an item listed as 100% modal which when arrived had a 100% polyester tag, to which I got this response when I started a refund:

"it is very cheap.
We are all losing money and we have no money to make.
If you want 100% modal,it is very expensive.
You should think before you buy it."