cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recieved Offer From Seller - Wasn't Watching Item and Never Added it to Cart

I don't use eBay often, so when I got my first "offer" from a seller today, I was curious how they knew I'd looked at their item. eBay says this can happen in two ways: either when a buyer chooses to watch an item, or when they add an item to their cart and it's been there for at least 5 days.

This was a listing I'd looked at a couple, or a few times, but I never "watched" it, or added it to my cart. I've never used the 'watch" function, and before today couldn't have told you how to use it. But just to make sure I hadn't somehow mistakenly hit a button, I checked the listing again and, as I already knew, I was not watching the item. Further, not only did I not add the item to my cart, I received the offer within only 24 hours of discovering the listing. So, even if I "forgot" I added it, I shouldn't have received the offer for four more days.

All I did was look at the listing a couple times, and was sent the offer. Was I reading outdated information from eBay? In the brief time I spent investigating this, it seems like a lot of folks are not terribly fond of this feature. And I have to say, if it's actually supposed to work the way it did with me... that's a bit intrusive. Has anyone had experience with this?

Message 1 of 21
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

@swokzcar_bawmy

Here is the additional information on the "send offer" screen that describes the set of interested buyers the seller may be sending an offer to:

whitewaterford_0-1645400506072.png

Perhaps this explains why you are occasionally getting offers.

View Best Answer in original post

Message 5 of 21
latest reply
20 REPLIES 20