cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

caring for/cleaning buttons

What's the best method to use to clean collectible buttons? I have some bakelite ones that have discolorations that are not part of the original design? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Message 1 of 14
latest reply
13 REPLIES 13

kickotto, I sure hope someone comes along to answer your question because I would like to know too! I realize that the only way I am going to add to my button collection is to go to the local farm auctions. I am slow to bid higher at some of these because the button look very dirty and since I am new at this ~ I don't really know my buttons. Can someone recommend a web page or book to help me out?
Message 2 of 14
latest reply

purple-peg, Thank you, thank you.... I have spent several hour searching the Internet and couldn't find any sites like this. What a great site! Now I just have to win some buttons and learn what kind of buttons that they are ~ LOL.
Message 4 of 14
latest reply

webbuying
Enthusiast
I use simichrome polish and it has been very successful for me.
Message 5 of 14
latest reply

lizzies465a
Enthusiast
Thanks, Peg! I'd been hunting for a good cleaning resource.
Message 6 of 14
latest reply

weavingwheaten
Enthusiast
Can you recommend a good storage method? How should they be stored? In what kind of container?
Message 7 of 14
latest reply