satnrose
Guide
Ask
Message 1 of 4,794
latest reply
4,793 REPLIES 4,793

Re: Ask any question about any book Part II

As I looked in detail at the above link, I found this

The speciman at top is from Glenn Cravath's own archive, and was accompanied by a copy of a July 17, 1933 letter he sent to publisher Grosset & Dunlap requesting one-half of his $100 fee. The other $50 was to be paid by RKO. Whether or not this version was ever actually printed and published is unknown.

Cravath was the DJ artist.

Who knows?
Message 3196 of 4,794
latest reply

hereandtherebooks
Enthusiast
Noir and satnrose, many thanks for the links.
Message 3197 of 4,794
latest reply

phyllo55
Enthusiast
What do you advise? I'm a rookie book seller and need to sell an autographed first edition,first print copy of Obama's Audacity of Hope. I do not have a COA. How and where do you get autographs authenticated? Anything anyone can add will be most appreciated.
Message 3198 of 4,794
latest reply

satnrose
Guide
Put it up at the lowest price you would sell it for
and offer an unconditional guarantee.

!
Message 3199 of 4,794
latest reply

What does C-L mean on back of title page? Thanks.
Message 3200 of 4,794
latest reply

If it is a Harper's date code,
it indicates the month and year of publication.

If it is a Doubleday book or a book published by an imprint Doubleday owned, and it does not have a hyphen, it indicates that it was printed at Country Life press.
Message 3201 of 4,794
latest reply

Thanks, much. Couldn't find that info anywhere!
Message 3202 of 4,794
latest reply

satnrose
Guide
You found it here.

The collective knowledge of the Booksellers Forum
is a wonderful resource:

don't hesitate to use it....

....despite all the barking!

Message 3203 of 4,794
latest reply

booksbyteresa
Enthusiast
> booksbyteresa: I believe your's is the 1955 reprint: http://lccn.loc.gov/54010951
>
>
> hereandtherebooks: I would think the "by by" issue is first,
> but I couldn't find anything on it