cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

has anyone heard of an oversize 1895 indian penny .. it's the size of a nickel

hi .. i have been collecting for many years.. i recently bought some coins at a coin auction .. in one of the boxes was an 1895 indian head penny marked "king size indian" this is not the 3 inch coin .. it is oversize from normal and i can fit a wheat penny into it and still see the entire rim and all the rim design around the entire coin .. it is the size of a nickel ..

any help on this would be great .. i've tried to google it but can't find anything

thanks ray

Message 1 of 9
latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

I've been collecting awhile also but I have never heard of one but that doesn't mean there isn't one???
Message 2 of 9
latest reply

HI animater ... i took a couple pictures of the coin .. what do you think the larger coin is thinner than the regular size... could it have been a very early error coin struck on a nickel planchet ..

thanks for your reply .. Picture 001.jpgPicture 002.jpgPicture 003.jpg

Message 3 of 9
latest reply

hi animater9 ... sorry if you get two replies .. i'm new to using the forums .. i wanted to make sure i reply as you were nice enough to .. kind of an interesting coin .. its also in very nice shape with diamonds showing ...

Message 4 of 9
latest reply

Ya know well like I said I don't think there ever was one and looking at the pictures I would still say there never was one. It looks good but the planchet doesn't look right. I would think someone just made it, but PLEASE don't take my word for it. Are you a member of the collectors society (NGC) ? IT FREE and you can ask some of those people that specialize in Indian cents. I'm not trying to blow you off but it doesn't look right to me but I don't do a lot of cent except lg ones so I don't want to tell you it isn't and it turn out to be of that it is and it turn out not to be. I apologize for not being any better help