cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

instant checkout

As a seller on ebay can I opt out of having ebay require my customers from having to make an instant payment? My auctions are not BUY IT NOW and do not have RESERVE PRICING?  Some of my customers prefer to wait to pay and I don't mind.  I've been selling since 1999 and I think this is ridiculous.

Message 1 of 6
latest reply
5 REPLIES 5

instant checkout

As a seller on ebay can I opt out of having ebay require my customers from having to make an instant payment?
You are exempt since Instant Payment is only required for Buy-It-Now and accepted Offers and Counter-Offers.

Cancel unpaid items FAQs
https://www.ebay.com/sellercenter/resources/seller-updates/2021-spring/business/

How long do I have to cancel a transaction if the buyer hasn’t paid?
You can cancel a transaction up to 30 days after the buyer commits to buy.

Can I handle unpaid items manually?
If you would like to handle unpaid items manually, you can do so by changing your “Preferences for items awaiting payment” at any time.

Message 2 of 6
latest reply

instant checkout

Go into Account Settings> Selling Preferences>Your Buyers (manage who can buy from you) and look for this:

heckofagame_0-1704566391729.png

Message 3 of 6
latest reply

instant checkout

I just think it's funny.

The thing that you think is "ridiculous" (which is fine - your opinion) sellers have been screaming for for years.
Now that it's here.  Many sellers don't like it. 

Papa Was A Rolling Stone - The Temptations
Message 4 of 6
latest reply

instant checkout

@mewtwo2 

The requirements that were resulting in auto-pay/no combined shipping for your buyers can be found here. eBay placed them on your account with a default to YES, but they didn't do much until eBay forced BUYER IDs to comply. 

https://www.ebay.com/bmgt/buyerrequirements

Buyer Payment Requirements

*Require buyers to provide a payment method before they place a bid.