cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Scam??

Hello,

I have been selling on EBay for about 6 years and have a situation where buyer receives item, post office shows delivered but buyer says that the package was received empty.  He did not open a case until 2 weeks after item has been delivered. 1st says he received an empty box, then changes mind and says nothing was in the package at all.  He then reaches out and says in order to not get eBay involved he would accept a $75.00 refund (item is worth $125.00). EBay advises for him to return item and he sends an empty package to us (which has been recorded and documented). EBay rules in his favor.  We have no recourse with the post office as he says he did not take any pictures.  Has anybody experienced this kind of situation and how do we prevent in the future 

thanks!

Message 1 of 10
latest reply
9 REPLIES 9

Scam??

Every week or so there is a seller reporting this type of scam.  The buyers always get to keep the item(s) and get their money back and the sellers are always screwed.  It is the luck of the draw. Seems like people who sell electronics and higher end items have this happen. I haven't seen any good advice on how to prevent it other than don't sell items that you can not afford to take a loss on.  Sorry

Message 2 of 10
latest reply

Scam??

Thanks for your response, that’s what I figured.  Just sad that there are people out there that do this, have blocked the buyer but I suppose not too much else you can do.

Message 3 of 10
latest reply

Scam??

the post office shows delivered but buyer says that the package was received empty.

Generally speaking, any buyer can steal any item from any seller at any time by filing a fraudulent dispute. It has been this way since 2008, and the post office will not help, pictures will not help, and eBay will not help. 

Has anybody experienced this kind of situation