cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with eBay / CGC authentication program

I've been selling on eBay since 2009 and have sold more than 2,000 items. I have a 100 percent positive feedback rate with 1,075 customers.

A sports card I sold on eBay for $345 was sent to CGC to be authenticated through the eBay program, then rejected because of an inaccurate description. I take great pains to be accurate with my descriptions. There wasn't any extra creases when I sent it to the authenticator, but they are claiming there are. I look at the cards carefully. I include detailed hi-res photos. You could see from the original photos that there were no signs of creases at the bottom.

I've never had an item returned like this before from an authenticator. 

Has CGC ever damaged a card while opening the package? I was as careful as I could be when packaging. 

And why are cards selling for lower than $400 being forced into this program? I thought the sales price threshold was $750. Did that change? Thanks for your interest. SH

Message 1 of 10
latest reply
9 REPLIES 9

I suppose it could happen.    No business will go without having some loss now and then. Just have to build it into your pricing.   There have been cases where they lost the item or mixed it up with another.  Even without that program a buyer could say it arrived that way and get a refund anyway.  Just a pitfall all sellers risk.

Message 2 of 10
latest reply

https://pages.ebay.com/authenticity-guarantee-tradingcards/

$250 and up.

Raw cards listed or sold at auction for $250 or more, graded cards listed or sold at auctions for $250 exclusive of tax and shipping

Message 3 of 10
latest reply

You're right. It's getting increasingly difficult to be a seller on eBay. But Etsy and Amazon don't have the customer base for sports memorabilia that eBay has. 

Message 4 of 10
latest reply

Thanks, I know originally it was $750. But $250 does seem low - I can see $500.