cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Tax Obligations for Us Small Sellers

Anonymous
Not applicable

So millionaires can move their money around and avoid paying any Income tax while we (the lowly Ebay sellers)  get taxed for anything and everything over $600 in a taxable year. How nice. I have been selling on Ebay for 10 years trying to supplement my Social Security Income along with my wife's to try and keep our head above water.  Looks like that is about to end. Unless things change, I will be closing my store at the end of January. I will liquidate my small inventory at a loss if necessary. I WILL NOT SET UP A SET OF RECORDS FOR THE SMALL AMOUNT OF NET INCOME I MAKE IN A YEAR.  I will say good-bye now to some of the great sellers and buyers I have met during my time selling and buying here. I will try to keep in touch with you all. Merry Christmas.

Message 1 of 61
latest reply
60 REPLIES 60

@Anonymous 

The only thing that will change is the amount when Ebay has to report it to the IRS.

You claiming any income made has not changed and you're supposed to be reporting it anyway.

Have a great day.
Message 2 of 61
latest reply

Merry Christmas to you, too. And a Happy New Year!

Message 3 of 61
latest reply

You realize that this is a Federal law (IRS) not an eBay rule, right?

And that you will encounter the same restrictions, no matter what platform you chose for selling? 

Message 4 of 61
latest reply

@Anonymous wrote:

Unless things change, I will be closing my store at the end of January. I will liquidate my small inventory at a loss if necessary. I WILL NOT SET UP A SET OF RECORDS FOR THE SMALL AMOUNT OF NET INCOME I MAKE IN A YEAR.  I will say good-bye now to some of the great sellers and buyers I have met during my time selling and buying here.

Okay. Bye!

Message 5 of 61
latest reply

You are not being "taxed" on $600.

You are being required to report sales of over $600 a year.