cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help shipping a photo

I'm new to shipping  photos. I bought 9x12 envelopes and I have leftover cardboard. Do I need to put paper tissue over the photo and use just one side of cardboard or two and should I insure it just in case in gets bent in transit? Thank you!

Message 1 of 5
latest reply
4 REPLIES 4

@ricochetrag   I never use padded envelopes for anything.  I've been shipping things since the early 80s and a box is the only way I ship anything.  I had several lots of antique post cards, Christmas and other seasonal cards and even a single item was put in a very small lightweight box.  One account here sells book both sold and hard cover ... they all go in a box.  We just shipped a pair of blue jeans this morning, yep in a box.

As to shipping a photo make sure you do not have a rough material against the image side ... and believe it or not, cardboard has small fibers that can scratch surfaces.  Thin bubble wrap (smooth side down) UN-taped but wrapping the photo ... then that goes in a box.

Regards,
Mr. Lincoln - Community Mentor
Message 2 of 5
latest reply

Yes, use tissue unless your cardboard is specifically for shipping photos.

Insurance will not protect you against bent photos. It is your responsibility to pack the items so they cannot be bent.  This could mean using two layers of corrugated cardboard, with the "grain" going crosswise to each other.  Writing "Do not bend" on the envelope is completely useless; USPS has even issued a specific memo about this.

Message 3 of 5
latest reply

@nobody*s_perfect wrote:

Yes, use tissue unless your cardboard is specifically for shipping photos.