cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I think a buyer is trying to scam me.

Hello, I'm new to eBay and mainly have been listing cds and dvds. Today I had a buyer request an invoice but in the message (which is filled with equals signs between most words) ask me to text them. I sent back a response that I would need to comunicate with them through eBay. I also noticed that the address they were requesting was in Malaysia and I set up all my items for U.S. shipping only. They have not responded. They have "bought" the item with the Buy it Now feature but have not paid. Is there something else I need to do? Is it possible for them to keep my listing in some sort of limbo? Thanks in advance for any advice.

Message 1 of 7
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

Three things:

1.  You are correct in wanting to keep all communication on eBay.  When a buyer requests to take communication off of eBay, suspect a scammer.

2.  Since your listings only ship to the US, your Malaysian buyer will not be able to pay unless they provide a US shipping address during checkout.

You can either cancel the transaction, citing problem with the buyer's address, or better yet .....

Complete the UPI process:

https://www.ebay.com/help/selling/getting-paid/resolving-unpaid-items-buyers?id=4137&st=12&pos=1&que...

3.  Set your Buyer Requirement to enforce your listings' shipping terms.

https://www.ebay.com/help/selling/listings/creating-managing-listings/setting-buyer-requirements?id=...

View Best Answer in original post

Message 2 of 7
latest reply
6 REPLIES 6

Three things:

1.  You are correct in wanting to keep all communication on eBay.  When a buyer requests to take communication off of eBay, suspect a scammer.

2.  Since your listings only ship to the US, your Malaysian buyer will not be able to pay unless they provide a US shipping address during checkout.