cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Seller a little overwhelmed by all these rules, strategies, and seller tools. Any tips?

Hi there! I am very new to selling but love finding little treasures so wanted to try out ebay. I have sold with facebook in the past. I am just so overwhelmed though by Ebay. It is rather confusing at times! I have decided I need to slow down and start with some most important things and slowly expand outwards. What is, in your opinion, most important to know/do as a new seller? I am sorry if I sound clueless I have the item knowledge actually, like the worth and rareness from years of shopping with my Grandmother. However, all the things Ebay has made to make it easier are just so overwhelming. I keep getting scammed too haha! Any tips would be lovely, thank you! Have a blessed day!

Message 1 of 8
latest reply
7 REPLIES 7

New Seller a little overwhelmed by all these rules, strategies, and seller tools. Any tips?

Your best advertising is your TITLE which gives you 80 keystrokes absolutely free to catch the attention of customers (or at least their Search criteria).

The first four words of your Title are believed to be the most important- because those show on phones and over half your customers are shopping on phones.

This is painful to admit but:

• Punctuation is not necessary in Titles.
  • Grammar is not necessary in Titles
  •  If a word has a common spelling error (Tolkein/Tolkien, bowl/bowel) included the error if you have room.

Your Title may duplicate information in Item Specifics because the Title is used by customers and the Item Specifics is aimed at SEOs like Google. Use both.

Message 2 of 8
latest reply

The first I do before listing anything is to do a little research.