cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Low power and super hot exhaust pipe on my XJ600

writing_to_chris
Enthusiast
Hi, I've got a 1992 Yamaha XJ600 Seca II/Diversion. It had some trouble starting this morning (even trying to push start it), and when I did get it started I had to keep the throttle open so the engine wouldn't cut out. When I started riding, I noticed that there was really low power and acceleration, the engine noise was a weird rumbling sound instead of normal, and one of the exhaust pipes was blowing out hot air and became very hot to the touch after a short ride. Any ideas? Could it be a flooded engine?
Message 1 of 30
latest reply
29 REPLIES 29

bazango
Guide
Lean lean lean. IMHO
Message 2 of 30
latest reply

bazango
Guide
I think that rich enough to cause these symptoms would make your eyes water and you'd see smoke. But I defer to the more knowleadgable folks who will soon join in.
Message 3 of 30
latest reply

Hot pipe is may be lean.
“All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others.”
-Douglas Adams

“Everyone is entitled to his own opinions, but not his own facts.”
- Senator Daniel Patrick Moynihan

Being intentionally vague and repeating Parrot Points adds little to nothing to the discussion.
Message 4 of 30
latest reply

bazango
Guide
Hot pipe is may be lean.

91xv, when did you become asian? :^O
Message 5 of 30
latest reply

Too much Yamaha. I go now........
“All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others.”
-Douglas Adams

“Everyone is entitled to his own opinions, but not his own facts.”
- Senator Daniel Patrick Moynihan

Being intentionally vague and repeating Parrot Points adds little to nothing to the discussion.
Message 6 of 30
latest reply

writing_to_chris
Enthusiast