cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Finally Got My First Authentication Rejection...

...And I am not complaining about it!

I am a GIA trained Graduate Gemologist who with my wife operated a brick-and-mortar fine jewelry store for more than 40 years.  But no one bats 1.000.  Ebay's authenticator caught a diffusion-treated star sapphire that I had bought as natural from a gem dealer many years ago.

A gemologist like me can easily detect diffusion treated FACETED sapphires.  The gems need to be repolished after the treatment, and it leads to color concentrations along facet junctions that can be observed in diffused light.  But CABOCHON cut sapphires, like my star stone, are not as easily detectable.

Bottom line, the treatment should have been disclosed to me when I bought the gem.  But it wasn't, so now I'm taking a bath on it.

Still, I'm happy that GIA caught the treatment.  It saved the buyer from vastly overpaying for the gem (like I did).  Had the ring sold when our store was still open, chances are the treatment would have never been discovered.  But that buyer would have also vastly overpaid for the gem (again, like I did).  And if the buyer would have for some reason submitted the gem to a lab like GIA, my reputation would have been on the hook.

I explained the whole ordeal to the would-be buyer, and she is understanding and empathetic.  But also thankful for the authentication service.  It sucks for me at some level, but still, the process worked like it was supposed to.  And overall, I'm glad it did.

Message 1 of 12
latest reply
11 REPLIES 11