cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cast Iron Teapot identification

I recently purchased this teapot at an estate sale. On the underside of the lid is a red and white sticker, which is not in the best condition. Do any of you recognize the sticker or style of teapot?20220510_082916.jpg20220510_065759.jpg

Message 1 of 22
latest reply
21 REPLIES 21

I can make absolutely nothing of the label. Have you investigated Japanese tetsubin? I'm seeing some with a similar look, but I really don't know, and I don't want to send you in the wrong direction.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tetsubin 

https://japanobjects.com/features/tetsubin 

Message 2 of 22
latest reply

Looks Japanese to me. I have a mid 19th cent Edo kitchen water well set with a wonderful pulley, chains/ wooden chain stops and buckets/ tetsubin rig in my Japanese room. How about a photo you ask. Maybe. The teapot of OP's  looks 20th c. 1950?  but I'm no expert, I just play one on the chat boards.

Message 3 of 22
latest reply

@oldnewjust4you   There is a good chance it is a Tetsubin.  In doing some searches several Tetsubin come up with that same handle on the lid ... looks like an inverted pine cone or a pineapple. 

As to the paper label on the inside of a tea kettle's lid ... that's a mystery, it would easily degrade in time from the steam from the water being boiled ... are there any markings on the underside of the piece?

Mr. L

Regards,
Mr. Lincoln - Community Mentor
Message 4 of 22
latest reply

No mystery, It is a retailer's paper label, one that never saw use, new old stock as they say. The top has seen moisture and then rusted.

Message 5 of 22
latest reply

I know nobody believes me here unless I show proof so...here is proof tetsubin.jpg of these Japanese items I speak of.

Message 6 of 22
latest reply

@sonomabarn67 wrote: