cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ebay won't honor seller protection and is allowing fraud to take place

Hey all:

I've been selling on Ebay for 20+ years, and have 12K feedback in my 2 accounts, all accounts are "power seller" and have 99.9% positive feedback.

I have a problem with Ebay.  Ebay is siding with a scammer and is allowing fraud to occur.

How?

A buyer bought a computer processor from me.  It was brand new, sealed in the box.  They have ZERO feedback.  They are shipping to an address that turns out to be a freight forwarding company.

They get the processor and claim that it is defective.  I doubt that, but OK, send it back for a refund.  A case is started and an Ebay pre-paid tag is generated for them.

Some time passes, maybe 3 weeks.

The buyer escalates the claim and wants a refund.  Ebay promptly complies and gives them their money back.

I call in to "customer service" to see why this has happened.  The buyer has NOT returned the processor.  Customer service says there is no tracking # and agrees with me that Ebay has made a mistake.  They note the case and escalate to the appeals department.

Appeals department gets the case and finds against me, allowing buyer to keep the processor AND their money.

I call back in and speak with customer service AGAIN.  They say there is a tracking # for the return, but it turns out that tracking # is MY TRACKING # showing delivery to the buyer!  Customer service agrees with me and says that Ebay is wrong, has made a mistake.  I ask to speak to a supervisor, OR somebody in appeals department.  Nope, that is not allowed because of Covid-19 and safety rules.  You can only communicate through email.  NOT on the phone, as that is too dangerous.  Customer service is making notes and forwarding it to the appeals department.