cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buyer damaged item, wants return

I sold a bathing suit top and the buyer left negative feedback, saying INAD (says it's navy blue not black) but also that she cut the item while opening the package. Now she wants to make a return. How should I handle this?

On the one hand, she would possibly have a case if the item were indeed blue and not black (I don't believe this is the case but since I don't have it in hand I cannot be positive), but on the other hand, she's damaged the product such that it is worthless and unable to be resold. I'm inclined to refuse the return since she's already left negative feedback.

Message 1 of 32
latest reply
31 REPLIES 31

Re: Buyer damaged item, wants return

This is the item. Now I'm not a professional photographer, but I try to take good and accurate photos. In the last picture, you can see that some of the threads are blue, as well as the text on the label, but the fabric of the top appears black in contrast.

My sister, a fellow ebay seller, thinks that maybe she is claiming INAD to get the refund but is also inventing damage so that she can keep it anyway, that I won't pay to have it shipped back. Conspiracy theories must be a family pasttime 🙂

Any of you need a possibly blue/possibly black/possibly "cut into" bathing suit top? I know where you can get one for a bargain!

Message 16 of 32
latest reply

@anenemity wrote:

I sold a bathing suit top and the buyer left negative feedback, saying INAD (says it's navy blue not black) but also that she cut the item while opening the package. Now she wants to make a return. How should I handle this?