cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buyer wants a partial refund because he said that the phone has other damages that I didn’t know of.

So I’m really new to eBay and I sold my 2nd item which was an iPhone. The buyer had recently been telling me that he needs a partial refund because he had seen other damages on the phone that I didn’t know of. I said the description that the phone is “as is” so I really need help. I don’t want to get in really big trouble in eBay so any help is appreciated.

Message 1 of 18
latest reply
17 REPLIES 17

Buyer wants a partial refund because he said that the phone has other damages that I didn’t know of.

There is no such thing as 'as is' on Ebay. If he opens a case for not as described, respond to it immediately, if Ebay steps in, they will refund him without having him return the phone, and you will get a defect too. You can decide then if you want to do a partial, or provide a return label for him to return the phone. Then refund after return.

``````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````

“Never pick a fight with an ugly person. They don’t have anything to lose.” ~Robin Williams
Message 2 of 18
latest reply

I never give partial refunds on something like this.
Why would some money back make the phone work better?

They just don't want to pay full price. 
I have them send it back for a full refund, sometimes they will most times they won't.

Message 3 of 18
latest reply

First off, "as is" means nothing on eBay, so you may as well forget about saying that.

Tell the buyer to open an item not as described case, then send him a label to return it.

Message 4 of 18
latest reply

As is is meaningless. Everything sold is as is or else it's  as isn't.