cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

eBay fees are ridiculous

I have been selling on eBay for almost 15 years and I cannot believe how bad it is gotten. I sell so much stuff I don’t even bother to really look at the fee breakdown but just started to recently. I have a basic store subscription which I pay about $22 a month for. Supposedly my eBay fees are only 15% of sales but I didn’t realize they are actually taking that out of the total INCLUDING shipping! Top of that They said I  had a high “ item not as described“ rate So they are taking another 5% because of that. What a **bleep** joke. I probably have about three returns a month out of over 150 sales and that’s a high rate? I have had only one negative and one neutral feedback in the last year. This seller is starting to move everything over to poshMark and Mercari and only sell certain items on eBay. I tried to close my store and they want $75 for me to do so. Such a disappointment I used to really enjoy selling on eBay but they just suck suck suck now. You would think with all the competition out there they will be trying to encourage their  sellers to stay but evidently not

Message 1 of 90
latest reply
89 REPLIES 89

Re: eBay fees are ridiculous

The buyer PAYS your sold price + the shipping + the sales tax......to you

Ebay sends the sales tax to the buyers State

Ebay charges you 12.55% of the total transaction price...what the buyer paid you which includes shipping + Sales Tax.............

If Ebay makes more than you do........it's because you are paying too much for the item to make the profit you want.    If you don't like the fees........why sell here?

Message 61 of 90
latest reply

@mikeelikeit wrote:

Back in 1990 if you sold a big ticket item the fee was 1  1/2% .Then Meg took over and fees have gone up ever since .

So you never expected things would change in 30 years? 

Message 62 of 90
latest reply

@srdjir wrote:

Two points: