cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Potential Buyers sending messages complaining about shipping costs - Suggested Response?

Hi, I'm a veteran seller, but the shipping costs have become fairly outrageous, and I do think it is the correct rate, it's just expensive to ship heavy items in these current times.  I sell mostly glass and pottery.  I am getting bombarded by potential buyers complaining about shipping costs (some nice, some not so nice). I'm exhausted from answering the questions.  I've tried to explain that eBay calculates the shipping cost based on distance, weight and size of box.  Some potential buyers are just put off when the cost of shipping is higher than the (perceived) value of the item. I've been starting all my auctions at $4.99 regardless of value, trying to gain attention and let bidders value the item through their bidding.  Do I need to raise my starting price, to simply off set the price of shipping?  Would any of you have a suggestions for a polite and generic answer to some of the messages I am receiving from potential buyers?

Message 1 of 26
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

Re: Potential Buyers sending messages complaining about shipping costs - Suggested Response?

"Just add the cost of shipping to your furthest coast (East or West)) to your sales price and never get another complaint about shipping costs."

This might work for some customers but a lot of people search for products with the filter set to total cost plus shipping.

View Best Answer in original post

Message 20 of 26
latest reply
25 REPLIES 25

Re: Potential Buyers sending messages complaining about shipping costs - Suggested Response?

Place them on your blocked bidder list.  Buyers like that are often real trouble if they do buy.

Message 2 of 26
latest reply

" .... eBay calculates the shipping cost based on distance, weight and size of box. "