cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need advice about moving my business out of my house to an office space

Hello Community,

I've been selling online for about 15 years by myself. My wife and I recently had our first child and the time has come for me to move the business to an office or small warehouse and hire an employee or two. The problem is I don't know where to start! Does anyone here have any resources I can tap into or any advice about how to go about this? Thanks

Message 1 of 16
latest reply
15 REPLIES 15

Re: Need advice about moving my business out of my house to an office space

I just did this a year ago... it's been SO NICE not to have inventory strewn all over my home and helpers there every day.

I can now get more pallet/truckload deliveries, that weren't always available to a residence.

First off, if you are not bringing in enough $ now to pay for rent, then don't sign a lease.  I would not recommend borrowing money to do this.  Try to get a 2 year lease, to try it out.  Many will try to get you locked in for 5 years.  That's risky, especially if there's not a cheap way to terminate the lease early.

I can't tell what kind of products you sell, so it's hard to give much advice.  Size of your items matters.  Can you tell us or PM me the info?

You might also want to consider AMZ FBA.. they'll store your items and, when you get an eBay order, you tell AMZ to ship/deliver it.  Their storage fees are crazy cheap and their shipping costs seems to be less for my items than eBay's discounted carrier rates (not eBay's fault).  

I'm in an area where rent is high though ($2150/month for 2000 SF of mostly warehouse and a little office).  My rent is probably going to go up substantially when my lease runs out in a year.  AMZ FBA may be cheaper and far more convenient.  I'm still investigating that.  Also, my eBay customers might get confused/upset if they get their eBay purchase in an AMZ box.