cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buyers who lie to force a return

I sold a machine and the buyer opened a return request, saying it didn't work. I don't accept returns, but I tried to help him with understanding how to operate the product. He opened a 'not as described' case. He then told me he had a technician examine the machine internally and that he found a defect in it. Since I was not able to confirm or refute that, I granted the return. EBay gave him a full refund. When I received the returned machine I inspected and tested it, and found absolutely nothing wrong with it. I am an experienced technician and am qualified to determine that. The buyer constructed a pack of lies to force a return without any legitimate reason. I reported the buyer and blocked him from future transactions. I lost $65 in shipping costs and eBay will not reimburse me. I appealed the case and sent eBay photos showing the machine in operating mode, proving that it worked properly and was as described. They ignored the proof and denied the appeal. I complained and the eBay rep told me they would review the appeal and respond in five days. They never responded.

Seller beware. Even when you provide proof eBay will ignore it. Abuse of the buyer protection policy is not taken seriously. At eBay the buyer is always right, even when the buyer lies to screw the seller.

Message 1 of 26
latest reply
25 REPLIES 25

Unfortunately, there are probably very few sellers that haven't experienced this at least once.   I feel that allowing returns at least gives buyers the opportunity to return without making stuff up.   Most of my returns choose changed mind and pay their own shipping.

Message 2 of 26
latest reply