cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

sell in e bay retirement ?

my question is
My only job is e bay. If tomorrow I retire, will I collect retirement because I sell on e bay?
I've been selling in e bay for about 5 years
Thank you so much

Message 1 of 36
latest reply
35 REPLIES 35

Re: sell in e bay retirement ?

You seem to believe you work for eBay and will receive retirement benefits from them.

You don't and you won't.  

Message 16 of 36
latest reply

@nobody*s_perfect wrote:

If your age makes you eligible for Social Security, then you do not have to retire from selling on eBay to collect SS payments. Depending on your age, you might have reduced payments if your eBay earnings are above a specific threshold (currently about $18,000)..

https://www.ssa.gov/benefits/retirement/planner/agereduction.html

Even it they're old enough to qualify at present, they haven't met the quarterly social security tax pay in requirement. They've stated this is all they've worked, only 5 years. 

Message 17 of 36
latest reply

@cristian3_6 wrote:

my question is
My only job is e bay. If tomorrow I retire, will I collect retirement because I sell on e bay?
I've been selling in e bay for about 5 years
Thank you so much

this is a joke????

Message 18 of 36
latest reply

EBay would have to be your employer. You do realize just because you use their venue to

list your items you are not an employee? This is actually no more than a classified ad. Just want to make sure you understood the distinction.

Message 19 of 36
latest reply

when I went to the counter I asked him and he told me that for paying the taxes he said yes
What I understand is that when I am 65 years old, can I request the benefit?

sorry if I misspell I use google translator

Message 20 of 36
latest reply

@cristian3_6 wrote:

when I went to the counter I asked him and he told me that for paying the taxes he said yes

@cristian3_6