cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

sell in e bay retirement ?

my question is
My only job is e bay. If tomorrow I retire, will I collect retirement because I sell on e bay?
I've been selling in e bay for about 5 years
Thank you so much

Message 1 of 36
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

Re: sell in e bay retirement ?

The benefit comes from Social Security. It does not come  from eBay.  You were not an employee of eBay, so you do not get any retirement benefits directly from eBay.

View Best Answer in original post

Message 22 of 36
latest reply
35 REPLIES 35

Yes, you will be able to set up payments to yourself from the funds that YOU have deposited into YOUR personal retirement fund over the past 5 years.

If you spent all the money that you made then................   no, there will be no retirement payments mad e to you.

Message 2 of 36
latest reply

Being self-employed doesn't exempt you from paying into Social Security (assuming you are US based). If you have been reporting income and paying taxes and SS, the once you reach retirement age yes you could collect SS

Message 3 of 36
latest reply

You pay into SS the entire time that you are reporting wages earned. It makes no difference if you are self employed, it's based on earned wages. The way you've written your question is full of holes. What did you do before you starting selling on eBay? 

Message 4 of 36
latest reply

There are no retirement funds from eBay. 

Message 5 of 36
latest reply

No retirement, no insurance, no holiday pay...nada.  

Message 6 of 36
latest reply

The way I read your question is that you've been selling on eBay for 5 years. You never had another job. This is the only income you have ever had. You are asking if you can collect Social Security.

Obviously, you should speak to an accountant rather than relying on these answers (including mine).