cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unexpected charge in Managed Payments

I’m new to MP and wasn’t thrilled about it or using Seller Hub. But I have adjusted and it’s fine. But I discovered an unexpected charge on a domestic sale. A buyer made an offer on an item I have had listed a long time.

I was good with the price but noticed the buyer was listed in a foreign country. I questioned them about that.  The buyer said he had a U.S. address and that’s where I sent the item. I didn’t do the offer process back and forth. I just changed the listing price to the offer price and let him know.

But the account is registered in a foreign country and I was charged a 1.65% International fee. It’s not a huge deal to me dollar wise in this case. But I won’t accept offers anymore from foreign registered accounts. I wondered why the buyer was able to buy from me anyway since they are registered in a country I don’t ship to. 

Is there a setting or option in Seller Hub I have missed? Thank you!

Message 1 of 11
latest reply
10 REPLIES 10

They were able to buy from you because they had a US address for shipping.

"Those who enter the arena unarmed or unprepared are quickly dispatched."
Message 2 of 11
latest reply

That is the same fee that PP has been charging here on ebay since PP took over payments. It just wasn't on a line item that stuck out like a sore thumb. 

International buyers use Freight Forwarders, or Aunt Suzie to ship to in the US, but the transaction is a 'foreign' transaction' and will be charged the additional fee. 

Probably still worth it in the long run depending on $ amount of sale 

Message 3 of 11
latest reply

Yes sorry.

It was pointed out on the board that an international fee will be charged based on the buyers address even if they ship to a US address..

Seems very unfair to me.. Sorry.. 

~Pika~
People in life that are the happiest don't have the most,, they make the most of what they have...