cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is eBay holding our listings hostage?

I have been selling on eBay for 22 years.  In the past 10 years I have made approximately 120 to 150 sales transactions per month.  However, for the past several months that number has dropped to an average of 5 to 10 sales per month.  I LITERALLY went 10+ years without a zero-sales day.  Right now I have not sold anything for 5 days which seems to be the new norm.

My inventory is the same and sales of those products seem to be doing well across eBay.  The only thing that has changed is that eBay keeps telling me to "promote" my listings....for an additional fee of course.

What a genius move by eBay.  When they realized they could no longer raise fees, they added a NEW fee that "promotes" your items.  The only downside is that if you don't "promote" your listings, they will be relegated to the virtual dungeon of lost listings.....somewhere on page 500 of shoppers' search results pages.

Unfortunately for eBay, the only thing that will happen is that they will lose my monthly store subscription fee.  Time to put all my focus on Amazon.

Any other sellers experiencing this change in sales volume?

Any sellers out there feel ok about the "promotion" fees.  And keep in mind, its a variable rate....the more you pay, the more your listings get "promoted."  They're making you an offer you can't refuse.

Message 1 of 9
latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

Re: Is eBay holding our listings hostage?

Welcome to the new rules of on line selling. Google just started this same thing again. As for the Big A, it looks like they charge you 40.00 per month to sale things on their sight plus fees. The world is changing very fast right now. Kinda scary if you look at the whole picture 😮

Message 2 of 9
latest reply