cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Incandescent light bulbs - some are still legal to sell, and eBay should do the right thing - fix it

The new laws concerning incandescent light bulbs contain exemptions - for example, appliance bulbs (there are no fluorescent or LED replacements for oven bulbs, because anything other than an incandescent can not stand the heat) also colored light bulbs, sizes such as G12.5 and R14 are still legal, so are the prefocus base bulbs, used on top of TV and Radio antenna towers. I sell all of these, and need to be able to relist them and/or change the quantity available. This is impossible right now, we get that red warning and can't do anything. It is not right for eBay to ban legal incandescent light bulbs. I am an honest man trying to make an honest living. I took down all the illegal bulbs voluntarily. I am a lighting expert, and volunteered to help eBay sort out what is legal and what is not. They did not take advantage of my expertise - which is worth $120.00 / hr. - and which I offered to help for free. Time to make things work for honest sellers. I have been on eBay for over 18 years, 100% positive, and have over 40 years experience in the lighting industry. I am usually in the top 100K in customer satisfaction. I should be heard, and I should be helped, I have earned it and I deserve it. I am 69 and this is how I make my living, selling light bulbs, I am too old to change, and have too much invested, too legit to quit. 

Message 1 of 21
latest reply
20 REPLIES 20

Re: Incandescent light bulbs - some are still legal to sell, and eBay should do the right thing - fi

The problem is eBay’s inability to enforce the laws on their site. They want to take the easy road and just blanket ban items instead of adjusting their filters to allow items still legal to sell. It’s a lazy approach to business that ultimately costs both eBay and sellers money. 

Message 16 of 21
latest reply