cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Goodbye everyone after 24 years on eBay - I'm done and here's why...

I've been selling on eBay for 24 years, started in high school. I'm leaving because I sell authentic items and I have notified eBay that there's a seller who listed items using the word "like _ style" with blank being the designer name. I used the reporting tools mid Nov 2022, and then followed up three weeks later. I've since spoken to 6 ebay reps, had it escalated, and they still REFUSE to remove the listings of a seller who is clearly violating listing practices and selling items that are NOT made by the designer they have listed in the title.

It boggles my mind that eBay spends lots of money on advertising "authentic" items only then cuts into my business by allowing sellers to blatantly break the rules. I did my part by notifying them 6 times and the listings are STILL UP! I'm officially done with this greedy, ancient site that allows some people to do whatever they want but make a point of removing my listings if I make a mistake. So long and won't miss you!

Message 1 of 51
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

It seems like the mere fact they used “like” or “style” would be enough for removal even without proving authenticity.  Early in my selling days I had an item removed for using “like” new in my title.

View Best Answer in original post

Message 6 of 51
latest reply
50 REPLIES 50

You have only have 20 listings and each one of them seems to be for a totally different brand and you likely have 500 competitors selling the real thing competing against your for each one of those, why are you concerned with what some bootleg seller is doing, whatever they are doing wrong will bite them eventually.  

Message 2 of 51
latest reply